Podsanity


Riding a Bike
July 20, 2006, 6:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It has been 22 years since I rode a bike seriously.

Two months ago, I began the process of rediscovering why I enjoyed riding so much when I was young. Of course this is 3 knee surgeries and a shoulder reconstruction later.

A few days after July 4th I had a chance to ride the same hills in upstate New York that I had trained on 22 years before. Some serious deja vu. The hills in the finger lakes don’t change. The roads don’t change. Even the houses you pass have’t changed much.

Almost everyone I knew when I lived there has moved on, as almost everyone does when they go to school in a place that’s relatively remote, like Ithaca. Kind’ve lonely place to go back to even though so much remains unchanged.

 dgp

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

